EFE/FEFs.

Hello.

I’ve been practicing many drills commonly taught by Coach Francis’s videos here.

So far, I think I have the most difficulty properly executing and understanding EFE/FEF drills (AKA cone drills, speed change drills, pick up drills, in and outs).

I’ve watched GPP video and more, and searched some forums (although I’m not very good at searching) but this is really hard to understand.

I know there probably isn’t one right way to do it, and can very it, but as a self training beginner, I find it really difficult.

When I attempt to do it, the sensation I get with going fast to easy is very uncomfortable. I feel like I’m running very steep downhill and I can do nothing but to reach in front and cause a lot of breaking force, I can really feel my hips drop, rhythm totally destroyed, and in case of FEF, I can’t regain sprint position (not that I can achieve it well anyways, but a lot worse than usual) and rhythm at all, with all attempt to do so only making me tighten up.

Even when I attempt to do something like 60s with 20 acceleration and hold or something, I often struggle to just hold; I’d either keep on attempting to go faster (not that I can accelerate for a long distance anyways), or just slow down so much that my form breaks down.

When I’m going very slow, I think it’s not difficult to achieve sprint position (for a beginner that is); hips high, knees driving to parallel, stepping down from that position and all. However, when I’m going faster, because of my center of gravity traveling over the ground due to previous efforts, I just…can’t just do those things slowly as I should. It’s like…if I attempt to do so, the ground contact time is too long for the speed I’m traveling at and my legs just fling backwards like crazy and I lose sensation of “up and down”. I’m surprised I’m sensing this because I just didn’t think this problem could apply to such a beginner.