Early season high school training and CF

Hi folks,

I’m a high school coach, who this year turned towards CF’s ideas of training for my sprinters. While I definitely seen improvements, I’ve also noticed a lot of small early season injuries that I haven’t witnessed in past years and all in locations I’ve never dealt with before - quads, hip flexors, and calves.

The most obvious change I’ve made as far as programming is moving a from a long to short to a short to long. In past years the first week would be more of a ‘hell week’ - 100s, 200s, 300s, long hills, high volumes, attempts at high intensities but looking back much more stuff in the 80-90% regions just due to the amount of work being done versus recovery.

Now week 1 was 4x10, 4x20, 4x30 on Monday, a tempo circuit Tuesday (about 900m plus core work), 3x30m Wednesday plus plyos, tempo circuit Thursday (1100m plus core work), and 2x23 seconds. So basically everything was either max or below 70%. I’m 99% sure I’m screwing the intensities but what do you folks recommend? It seems like a few weeks in they adapt, but what do you all (especially folks familiar with the 12 week season of US high school) for the those first 2 weeks.

Much thanks

Is everyone doing the same workout and same progression? Is there any individualization of load?
Are they all completing every last drill or run you assign them?
What are their training backgrounds? How much general prep do they have under their belts before adding the HI work?
What kind of therapy, if any, are they getting?

this was going to be my question.

I suppose as a high school coach it’s not going to be appropriate to do any hands on work, but perhaps you could invest in a few foam rollers, or something…

First, thank you all for replying.