Burnout last 30 m of the 100m

I am new to coaching sprints in T&F but work with field sport athletes for over 10 years at the pro level. I have a High School Athlete who approached me today saying that he ‘burns out’ the last 30m or so in the 100m. So I assume we need to work on Speed Endurance.

Here is his background:
-HS Junior

• 5’10" @ 145 lbs
  • lean 4-5%BF?
  • 100m PB= 10.9
    -5yrs training experience
    -trains w/his local High School

Any suggestions you may have as to what would be the best plan of action?

thank you,
Jeremy

I would suggest having the athlete focus on increasing top speed while adding special endurance runs of 150-300m. As of right now, it may be beneficial to start off with say 1x150 for week 1, 2x150 with 10 minute recovery for weeks 2 and 3, and then drop back down to 1x150 on week 4. Then during the next phase you could switch to 250s. This will open up the athletes top speed and special endurance as the season progresses. Hope it helps.

There could be a lot of reasons for dying towards the end of the 100m. First, there may be a deficiency in speed endurance. Second, he could be running too tight causing him to burn far too much energy early on. Third, he might be getting straight up out of the blocks, causing him to use the muscles involved in the upright run for too much of the race. (For example, top athletes might be in the forward position for the first 17 strides and upright for the last 29. Getting upright much earlier causes the upright working portion of the race to be too long)

Charlie,
Thank you for replying. A few comments:

>>Second, he could be running too tight causing him to burn far too much energy early on. <<

Could you please elaborate a bit on this area? What are some ques that I should be looking for?