Brian's Training Journal

Hey everyone - this is a log of my training -my goals are simply to be faster and fitter. I’m a recreational athlete who enjoys pick-up basketball, 7-on-7 and goof-off league baseball. So why am I insistent on “training right?” I used to be a serious athlete and I still like training that way. I’m one of those annoying all-around types, so I just try to add on to a base of strength and conditioning to be incrementally better. I’m also a full time student and work full time, so my training is very brief.
This is what I’ve done for the past 4 weeks
-Mondays Wednesdays and Fridays - CNS Days
3x20m sprintsx95% (since March 1)
Five Vertical Jumps
Lifting - SN or CanJ (75%x6 singles) SQ or FSQ (3/3/1/1 or 5/5/5) RDL or Snatch Grip DL (3/3/3/3) occasionally I’d throw in BP for 3/3/3/3
Tuesdays and Thursdays
Calsithenics
Tempo (if very energetic)
ab work
Almost daily 1-4 games of pick-up ball - I feel that for the level of fitness I need little extra conditioning, speed or plyometric work is neccesary if I play enough ball.
Results of this were better RFD all around, an extra inch or so on my dead start vert, and maintaining my first step quickness.

Re: Bball - obviously, on CNS days, I might not even play ball.
This week and next I will focus on max strength
The running this week will stay the same as the previous two, then next week as I will up the running as I will be home for spring break, without pickup games to play.

Track was rained out monday, just played two games - focusing on Defensive efforts… I think I only took two shots the enitre time
Mondays’ lifting really took it out of me.
Snatch Grip DL 4x4x185 (about a minute-minute and a half rest between all sets on all exercises)
Front Squat 4x4x145
Incline Press 105-115-125-135x4
One-arm DB Snatch 4x4/4x35

Tuesday
Track still too slick, felt like crap from monday, just shot around for about half an hour and got in some light ab work.

Today