Best plyos excercises for max speed

Which excersise do you recommend for developing and improve max speed ?
I’m focusing on improving starting strength (strength produced in 70-80ms) ; i feel that in plyos excercises like depth jump , jump onto box the ground time contact is to long .They works better for RDF,power . What do you think?
Rauno

plyos with a reactive component, ie depth jumps from a low enough height, rabit hops, hurdle hops, are good for assisting with max speed.

Could you explain rabbit hops for me? I’m new to the whole plyos thing

Also, how low is “low enough” for the depth jumps you’d suggest? Should you do a lot more reps at this height to improve max speed?

I’m sure these are all newbie sounding questions.

http://www.pponline.co.uk/encyc/0001.htm

in this study, they utilise the use of plyometrics with added weights.

Have you heard of sprint bounding? Check elitetrack.com… they have a file about it… Basically you sprint for a few meters… then start bounding. This is really specific to sprinting because of the faster ground contact time, the range of motion pretty much the same, etc.

See PJ’s comment about Verkhoshanski’s work early in the Lactate Threshold thread:

Short jumps would be things like squat-jumps and CMJ, possibly depth jumps (all acyclic) short cyclic jumps like bounding drills and 3-5 bounds. Long jumps would be 25-50m bounds and some strength endurance drills.

I’ve had good results combining bounding drills (5-10 contacts) and 5-bounds during Phase 1 (this can be done during warmups for speed/SE sessions if total contacts are kept under about 20), and then stretchiing the bounds up to 10-20 during phase 2 (while still doing some of the acyclic short jumps for reasons of Verkhoshanski’s results), generally following CF short-long philosophy.

What do you mean by acyclic? Does that mean a puase beteewn each jump?