Athletic Choice

I would appreciate feedback from as many on the Forum as possible.

I am new to track and field, and am having trouble choosing an event, or having an event choose me (if that makes sense). I am a college graduate, having played basketball through my senior year at a Division III level. I am currently in a doctoral program for physical therapy and rehabilitation and am working in an orthopedic rehabilitation clinic, so time for training is available, but would not be unlimited.

An orthopedist adjacent to the office in which I work is a competitive sprinter, in a 40-49 age bracket. Through him and his sponsor track and field club, I have had access to a track and ran with a few people that he trains in the club. I performed well in the 100m and 200m, despite my raw form. I also enjoyed throwing with the shotputters and discus throwers when I was done sprinting.

I am built more like a 200m or 400m sprinter (6’3 and 1/4", 186#), but am more “fast twitch” than I look (perhaps from many years of basketball). I just want to have competitive fun at this point, but do want to train seriously as well. So my question is…

Should I choose and train for the event for which I am built (200m, 400m)? Or should I go for what I enjoyed more (100m, and as odd as it sounds, the throwing events)?

I know this is a somewhat vague question, and that newbies can be annoying to deal with for those of you that are experienced, but I just want some guidance. I still have competitive juices and I have always regretted not participating in track and field in high school and college. It is never too late to at least try.

Forgot to add…to anyone that takes the time to write back. BE HONEST!

I can take criticism, so if someone feels I am too late to start athletics, too tall for 100m, too small for throwing, just say so and explain why.

I value the opinions of those of you on the Forum with me.

Cancel what?