411 on Sacrotuberous Lig.

Hello all,

For you stretching and soft tissue minded individuals…does anyone have any suggestions on how to manage this small and sometimes problematic ligament :confused: :frowning: . We’re getting ART/Chiro weekly, however, I would appreciate ANY suggestions on how to handle it between ART/Chiro sessions.

Thanks

Randy aka frustated coach :mad: :o

Randy, do you have an unstable SI? How old are you? How did injury occur? How old is the injury?

Tom

Thomas,

I’m the coach. This is my first year with the athletes. The athlete is a tall (pushing 5’10) 18 yr old female short sprinter. Flexibilty has been an issue of hers over the years leading to a number of a little problems ie, super tight gracilis, hamstring, IT bands, etc all of which leading to knee problems. Anyways, we’ve received treatment as mentioned and she has noticed her hamstrings “quieting” down, adductors released and increase mobility in the her pelvis. However, shortly after receiveing her most recent adjust (first since the treatment began) she has experienced discomfort when striking the ground (jog, jump, run etc). I’ve wondered if maybe the new discovered mobility and or flexibility without improved pelvic stability is some how creating the problem (just a thought :o )…

What comes to mind Thomas???

Randy, to begin, I think a person can improve flexibility and mobility without creating an unstable SI joint.

This is a tough one without seeing the athlete. And the battery of tests is difficult to administer through cyberspace.

If you’re or the person treating her is positive it is her sacrotuberous ligament, I’d be interested to know how they came to that conclusion, not that I’m doubting them, just that there is never just one thing “wrong” when it comes to injury, especially when there is no acute trauma.