100m sprinter to 400m sprinter?

Ok here is my situation. I am 23 years old and I am in my second year of sprint training. I have PB’s in of 10.80 in the 100m and 22.46in the 200m. The only problem is I haven’t completed an entire season without getting injured. My first season I pulled my hamstring three different times and this put me out for about 2 1/2 to three weeks at a time. I think this was due to my overtraining in the weight room and the lack of development in my hamstrings because I had not done any type of sprinting in the last three years between high school and college. After this season I was really feeling burnt out so I decided to take the summer off. I quickly found out that this was the worst thing I could do. I lost alot of muscle bulk, my muscle strength decreased, and I lost my speed.

My second season to say the least was another disappointment. I had lost much of the things I gained from the previous year. I also ended up injuring my hip which put me out for a good month and a half. This eventually resulted in only a 10.97 performance in the 100m on the year, which makes me want to improve more and learn from my mistakes.

This has left me in a position asking “where do I go from here”? I really want to try running the 400 (48.9 split 4X400), but I keep on getting injured during the season and the only thing I am really good for is the 100m by the end of the season. So basically what I am trying to ask is whether it would be a good idea to try to move up to the 400m? Is it possible to make a 100m, 200m sprinter into a 200m, 400m sprinter? I just figure with the combination of my speed and my tenacity to work hard that I could make a good 400m runner. But I just read that since I have only been running for 2 years that I should focuse on developing my max speed. Is it possible to train to run at your max speed while training to run the 400m?