Your #'s when you first started lifting....

I’ve always been a pretty weak person, and today when I tried a few lifts just to get a feel for what I should use when I started lifting, I was extremely disappointed. I’m going to start lifting weights seriously on Monday. What were your numbers when you first started lifting weights seriously? Just curious, hopefully there are some stories of people who were like me here. Thanks in advance.

My interest in weight training came from reading X-men and other comic titles and seeing ripped bodies and so of course the next step in the ealy 90s was bodybuilding. No Mark Verstegen, No Boyle, No anybody. Just Arnold.

My training for two years in HS sucked since I was so weak I couldn’t lift 135 in the bench so I did dumbbells to mask my weakness since nobody used dbs in HS and the strength conversion was lost.

I went on and learned the science from college and texts and went from 152 to 195 body weightand now stay at a lean 180. My squat went from 165 to over 300 pounds and did 3 reps at 400 pounds. My bench never got impressive 3 x 5 at 225.

You shouldn’t be discouraged… I first started lifting as a freshman in high school… I remember very well not even being able to squat 185 lbs. for more than 3 reps. My bench was very weak as well, somewhere in the 110-115 lb. range for 4-5 reps. Continued to train and my strength went up pretty good… Now 5 years later at 19, best #'s are:
Bench Press: 225 x 6 reps
Squat: 315 x 9 reps
Deadlift: 385 lbs.
Hang Clean: 185 x 6 reps

Bodyweight from 9th grade to now also went from 150 lbs. to 179 lbs.

Peter Griffen,

Don’t get too down on yourself, brah. We all had to start somewhere and this is your starting place. Just accept it and know that you can build on what you have. Also, don’t worry about what others are doing in da weightroom–you are not them, they are not you, some have more lifting experience than you do.