Vancouver 2010 Launches Olympic Torch Relay Route

The Vancouver 2010 Organising Committee (VANOC) has announced its Olympic Torch Relay route. After arriving in Canada, the Olympic flame’s journey will see it travel from coast to coast to coast beginning its journey in Victoria, British Columbia, before arriving at the Opening Ceremony of the Games 106 days later in Vancouver. The flame will start its journey in Canada on 30 October 2009 after the traditional lighting ceremony is held in Olympia, Greece.

Building The Excitement And Expectation
Commenting on the Relay, IOC President Jacques Rogge said, “The Olympic Torch Relay holds a unique place in people’s hearts. It not only marks the final countdown to the Games, building the excitement and expectation of people across the host nation and world as it winds its way towards the host city, but it also carries with it a message of peace and hope, transmitting the Olympic spirit to all who come out and celebrate its journey.” He continued, “We wish the Vancouver 2010 Olympic Torch Relay well and are sure that by reaching the vast majority of Canadians and by allowing the world to see Canada and its people at their finest, that the Vancouver 2010 Relay will leave a lasting legacy to Canada and the Olympic Movement as a whole.”

The Vancouver 2010 Olympic Torch Relay will travel over 45,000 kilometres within Canada, travelling 1,000 by water, 18,000 kilometres in the air and 26,000 kilometres on land. This journey will see the flame touch 1,000 communities and pass within a one-hour drive of more than 90 per cent of the Canadian population. The Relay is expected to travel to some remarkable and iconic locations on its journey, including the former Olympic host cities of Montreal and Calgary, aboriginal communities and UNESCO World Heritage Sites. The flame will even get to within 900 kilometres of the North Pole, when it stops in Alert, Nunavut. More information on the route can be found at


Vancouver and Whistler will host the XXI Olympic Winter Games from 12 to 28 February 2010 and the 2010 Paralympic Winter Games from 12 to 21 March 2010. The seven Winter Olympic sports that will be on show in Vancouver are Luge, Skiing, Skating, Ice Hockey, Biathlon, Bobsleigh and Curling.