Tempo for basketball

How can you do aerobic work-out in the basketball when you have only small in-door field, and there is -10C outside (too cold)?

Greg Brittenham (1996) in Complete conditioning for basketball wrote:
“To develop solid aerobic base, engage in continuous activity at submaximal effort for 20 to 60 minutes. You can still use the drills [basketball] to work you aerobic system. Simple decrease the intensity, execute the drills over a longer duration, and shorten the rest interval between sets” (page 13.)

I have two dissagreements:

1. I am not a proponent of continuous running over prolonged time with low int for purpose of developing aerobic capacity in team sports. It can be used, but more emphasis should be put on tempo work (interval training).
  2. Doing basketball drills at sub-maximal intensity is detrimental. If you do them, do it right! Doing cutting, shooting, passing and agility work under some certain intensity threshold can lead to deadaptation. Do them at >95% or not at all.

So how can you develop aerobic base without running in circles? Can you use,lets say, skipping with slow forward movement (at <75%) for 20-30sec? Or can you use Gregs drills at low int (wich I dont approve)?
Ideas needed…

• Intervals on treadmills and bikes
  • Easy tempo runs back and forth on the court (30m) but broken up with push-ups, squats, abs so that there is not too much back-and-forth which is monontonous
  • Incorporate med-ball pushes/throws into the runs at low intensity as shown in Charlie’s GPP video