Supplementation while injured....

Charlie,
When one of your athletes were injured or for some reason or another could not run momentarily, would they still take the supplements that would normally be taken during the season? 716 or Clemson, what about you guys. What would you have your athletes do?

vincente.
id say yes since it is just momentarily and im assuming you are still lifting so the supplements you are taking would not be a waste. but i am no expert. to help us answer you question maybee it would be a bit of help to use to tell us what supplements you are taking at the moment?

You say “momentarily” - what time period does this refer to: a few days, a week, a month?

An extended lay-off may be a time to give your body a break from supplement use. As Quick says, a list of supplements you are using will help answer this.

I was just thinking (yes it did hurt) that should we change the supplements we use when injured?

Maybe to increas our oxygen uptake, I think it was on anougher thread that donavon bailey was treated with extra oxygen when he injured his achilies.

So maybe if we try and increas our bodys abillity to take in oxygen that will aid the healing process, somethings like pher phos, co-q10 just things that are supposed to increas vo2.

stupid yes!

What do you guys think?

Will increasing the amount of protein we intake help in the rebuild at all?

What about ZMA (for the growth hormone aspect) will speed recoverey?

You should take the ZMA at this point anyway to help reduce muscle tonus. Anything that promotes fluid retention around the injury site should be avoided. As well as eliminating any creatine, you might consider reducing carbs during this period. B vits are also very important when nervous system trauma or stress are encountered.

I know older athletes swear by glucosamine & chondroitin when the injury is tendon related.

Also, an increase of fish/flax oils are also beneficial.