Sth Af Team For African Champs, Mauritius Aug 9-13

SA squad for Senior Championships named

May 25 2006 at 01:36PM  

Athletics South Africa (ASA) on Thursday announced a provisional squad of 53 athletes to participate in the CAA African Senior Championships.

The Championships will take place in Mauritius from August 9 - 13.

The squad of 31 men and 22 women athletes will try to emulate the performance of the previous team at the championships in Brazzaville in 2004 which South Africa won, topping the medals table with 10 gold, 12 silver and eight bronze medals.

After South Africa’s successes at the recent Commonwealth Games in Melbourne, Australia, the athletes who excelled there form the backbone of the squad. Also included in the squad are several younger athletes who have made their mark in this year’s track and field season in South Africa, and they will gain valuable experience in Mauritius.

The final team will not be confined to only the athletes who have been included in the provisional team. Athletes who achieve excellent performances in ASA sanctioned events before the final team is announced by July 19 will also be included in the final team.

SA squad:
Sherwin Vries (100m, 200m, 4x100m); Leigh Julius (200m, 4x100m); Snyman Prinsloo (200m, 4x100m); Jan van der Merwe (400m, 4x400m); Ofentse Mogawane (400m, 4x400m); Paul Gorries (400m, 4x400m); Mbulaeni Mulaudzi (800m); Juan van Deventer (800m, 1500m); Johan Pretorius (1500m); Boy Soke (5000m); Ruben Ramolefi (3000m Sc); Emmanuel Mkhabela (3000m Sc); Ruan de Vries (110mH); LJ van Zyl (400mH, 4x400m); Alwyan Myburg (400mH, 4x400m); Ramsay Carelse (High Jump); Khotso Mokoena (Long Jump, Triple Jump); Yaw Fosu - Amoah (Long Jump); Janus Roberts (Shot Put); Chris Harmse (Hammer Throw); Hardus Pienaar (Javelin Throw); Hannes Hopley (Discus Throw); Marc Mundell (20km Walk); Lee - Roy Newton (4x100m ); Hannes Dreyer (4x100m); Ruben Majola (4x400m); Sors Joubert (Decathlon); Terence Wepener (Decathlon); Jannie Botha (Decathlon).

Geraldine Pillay (100m, 200m); Estie Wittstock (400m, 4x400m); Amanda Kotze (400m, 4x400m); Tsholofelo Selemela (400m, 4x400m); Lebo Dinah Phalula (800m); Lebogang Phalula (800m); Chanelle Olivier (1500m); Marlene Breytenbach (1500m); Nolene Conrad (3000m Sc); Tebogo Masehla (3000m Sc); Janet Wienand (400m Hurdles, 4x400m); Suzenne Erasmus (20km Walk); Nicolene Cronje (20km Walk); Anika Smit (High Jump); Rene van der Merwe (High Jump); Marna Fourie (High Jump); Karen Mey (Long Jump); Samantha Dodd (Pole Vault); Lindie Roux (Pole Vault); Elizna Naude (Discus Throw); Sunnete Viljoen (Javelin Throw); Janice Josephs (Heptathlon). - Sapa