SA athletes book Commonwealth spots

Posted on 11 February 2006 - 18:17

The good news from the 99th SA national track and field championships in Port Elizabeth on Saturday was the qualification of several athletes for the Commonwealth Games, including three from the 400m hurdles.
One of the highlights of the second day was the performance of Ruben Ramolefi in the 3000m steeplechase.

Ramolefi’s winning time of 8:21.28 was well within the Melbourne qualifying time of 8:24.60 and this young man certainly has the potential and talent to return from Melbourne with a top three placing.

The second day of the championships started on a high note for Werner Appel, who bettered the national junior 20km walk record to 1:32.51, almost five minutes faster than Marc Mundell’s winning time in 2005.

Khotso Mokoena continued his winning form and booked his ticket to Melbourne with a 16.77m win in the triple jump. Hannes Hopley won the discus with a third round throw of 61.69m, more than 68cm further than Frantz Kruger’s win in 2005. Kruger is now based in Finland.

The race of the day was the 400m hurdles where the top three positions went to LJ van Zyl, Ter de Villiers and Alwyn Myburgh who all qualified with an A qualifying time for the Melbourne games next month. Van Zyl just managed to squeeze past De Villiers to claim gold in 48.63.

Sherwin Vries was in a class of his own in the 100m sprint, easily claiming the title in 10.27 and winning bronze in the 200m. Leigh Julius took the 200m title in 20.84s and Paul Gorries won the 400m in 45.93s, well within the Commonwealth qualifying standard.


Latest results of the South African Senior Track and Field Championships at the Nelson Mandela Metropolitan University on Saturday.


100m: 1. Geraldine Pillay (WPA) 11.51s; 2. Wendy Seegers (CGA) 11.87s; 3. Cindy Stewart (EPA) 11.93s 200: 1. Geraldine Pillay (WPA) 23.28s; 2. Estoe Wittstock (CGA) 23.66s; 3. Adri Schoeman (AGN) 23.69s 100m hurdles: 1. Janice Josephs (BOL) 13.75s; 2. Sune Labuschagne (AGN) 14.14s; 3. Mariska van Driel (AGN) 14.26s 400m hurdles: 1. Surita Febbraio (CGA) 56.88s; 2. Shona Hutchinson (KZNA) 58.79s; 3. Kerryn Hulsen (KZNA) 59.23s 800m: 1. Dina-Rose Phalula (CGA) 2:02.43; 2; Lebo Phalula (CGA) 2:02.94; 3. Marlene Breytenbach (AGN) 2:03.44 3000 Steeplechase: 1. Nolene Conrad (WPA) 10:05.30; 2. Tebogo Mashela (CGA) 10:05.68; 3. Myrette Filmater (AGN) 11:00.31. 5000m: 1. Zintle Xiniwe (WPA) 16:26.97; 2. Lena Lotter (WPA) 16:31.07; 3. Rene Kalmer (AFS) 16:42.55 10 000m: 1. Poppy Mlambo (CGA) 34:29.07; 2. Takalani Nthulane (CGA) 35:33.53; 3. Smangele Mabuza (CGA) 36:28.39 20km Walk: 1. Nicolene Cronje (CGA) 1:40.54; 2. Suzanne Erasmus (ACNW) 1:41.19; 3. Handri Botha (ACNW) 1:46.18 Hammer: 1. Karin Snyman (AGN) 50.71m; 2. Marilize Coetzee (WPA) 47.27m; 3. Jolene van Zyl (AFS) 45.21m Shot Put: 1. Marli Knoetze (ACNW) 16.79m; 2. Simone du Toit (CGA) 16:55m; 3. Mariska van Zyl (EPA) 13.43m Pole Vault: 1. Samantha Dodd (WPA) 4.00m; 2. Lindi Roux (WPA) 3.80m; 3. Sylma Jordaan (WPA) 3.70m Long Jump: 1. Janice Josephs (Bol) 6.49m; 2. Karin May (AGN) 6.22m; 3. Delia Visser (AMPU) 6.01m Triple Jump: 1. Arline Muller (ACNW) 12:05m; 2. Rochelle van der Merwe (EPA) 11.68m, 3. Marike Steyn (AFS) 11.59m Discus: 1. Elizna Naude (AFS) 59.02m; Simone du Toit (CGA) 51.51m; 3. Mariska van Zyl (EPA) 46.30m Javelin: 1. Sunette Viljoen (ACNW) 53.64m; 2. Linda Smit (ACNW) 49.25m; 3. Gerlize de Klerk (AGN) 48.53m High Jump: 1. Anika Smit (ACNW) 1.90m; 2 Marizca Gertenbach (AMPU) 1.80m; 3. Marna Fourie (WPA) 1.80m


100m: 1. Sherwin Vries (EPA) 10.28s (Commonwealth B Qualifying); 2. Leeroy Newton (KZNA) 11.44s; 3. Christiaan Krone (AGN) 10.57s 110m hurdles: 1. Shaun Bownes (ACNW) 13.83s; 2. Hennie Kotze (ACNW) 13.85s; 3. Ruan de Vries (AGN) 13.96s 200m: 1. Leigh Julius (EPA) 20.84s; 2. Leeroy Newton (KZNA) 21.05s; 3. Sherwin Vries (EPA) 21.13s 400h: 1. LJ van Zyl (AGN) 48.63s (Commonwealth A Qualifying); 2. Ter de Villiers (AGN) 48.74s (Commonwealth A Qualifying); 3. Alwyn Myburgh (AGN) 48.90s (Commonwealth A Qualifying) 800: 1. Mbulaeni Mulaudzi (CGA) 1:48.01; 2. Werner Botha (AGN) 1:48.83; 3. Isaiah Nkuna (AGN) 1:48.96 3000 Steeplechase: 1. Ruben Ramolefi (CGA) 8:21.28 (Commonwealth A Qualifying); 2. Emanuel Mkabela (AFS) 8:37.06; 3. Friedel Maans (WPA) 8:51.06 20km Walk: 1. Werner Appel (ACNW) 1:32.51 (New SA junior record); 2. Thami Hlatshwayo (KZNA) 1:34.18; 3. Wayne Snyman (ACNW) 1:35.28 Hammer: 1. Chris Harmse (AFS) 72.75m; 2. Johan Harmse (ACNW) 57.69m; 3. Conradie Meyer (ACNW) 51.94m Discus: 1. Hannes Hopley (ANWN) 61.69m; 2. Janus Robberts (BOL) 56.65m; 3. Chris Harmse (AFS) 54.50m Pole Vault: 1. Okkert Brits (Bol) 5.65m; 2. Francois Coetzer (Bol) 5.00m; 3. Johan du Plessis (Bol) 4.80m Shot Put: 1. Janus Robberts (Bol) 20:47m; 2. Roelie Potgieter (AGN) 18.76m; 3. Hannes Hopley (ANWN) 18.70m Triple Jump: 1. Khotso Mokoena (ACNW) 16.77m (Commonwealth B Qualifying); 2. Jason Kidza-Sewanyana (KZNA) 15.93m; 3. Elmarco Matthews (BOL) 15.33m Javelin: 1. Hardus Pienaar (AGN) 79.60m (Commonwealth B Qualifying); 2. Robert Oosthuizen (BOL) 79.43m; 3. Lohan Rautenbach (ACNW) 75.68m

<< Back