South Africa Cwg Team

Mulaudzi, Brits and Bownes set Sights on more

Commonwealth Games Gold Down Under

Johannesburg, Thursday, 16 February 2006 – Team SA’s track and field heroes Mbulaeni Mulaudzi, Okkert Brits and Shaun Bownes will be looking to repeat their golden performances achieved at the previous Commonwealth Games in Manchester, England, when the 18th edition of the Games take place in Melbourne, Australia from March 15-26.

The announcement of the athletics contingent of 59 athletes, brings the Team SA travelling party to a total of 245 athletes that will be representing the Rainbow Nation in Australia.

Mulaudzi (800m), Brits (pole vault) and Bownes (110m hurdles) all made it to the top of the medal podium in Manchester, as they formed part of the eight medal haul won by the track and field athletes, which added to Team SA’s final total of 46 medals.

Janus Robberts, who won the silver medal in the shot put in Manchester four years ago, is also part of the athletics team, with stars such as Sherwin Vries (100m and 4 x 100m), Leigh Julius (200m, 4 x 100m), Khotso Mokoena (long jump and triple jump), 400m hurdlers in Alwyn Myburgh and LJ van Zyl, and Geraldine Pillay (100m and 200m), expected to let their performances do the talking when it comes to challenging for medals.

SASCOC President Moss Mashishi said that South Africa’s track and field athletes have done us proud at previous Commonwealth Games and will play a crucial role if South Africa is to surpass the medal haul obtained in Manchester.

“Representing Team SA at the Commonwealth Games creates the opportunity for athletes to establish themselves as household names and role models to the communities back home, and serve as an inspiration to the youth who will strive to follow in their footsteps in order to be shining lights in the sports world at future international events,” said Mashishi.


Men: Sherwin Vries (100m, 4 x 100m), Leigh Julius (200m, 4 x 100m), Snyman Prinsloo (200m, 4 x 100m), Paul Gorries (400m, 4 x 400m), Jan van der Merwe (400m, 4 x 400m), Ofentse Mogawane (400m, 4 x 400m), Mbulaeni Mulaudzi (800m), Tshamano Setone (5000m), Boy Soke (5000m), Ruben Ramolefi (3000m sc), Emmanuel Mkhabela (3000m sc, Shaun Bownes (110mH), Ruan de Vries (110mH), Hennie Kotze (110mH), LJ van Zyl (4 x 400m, 400mH), Pieter de Villiers (4 x 400m, 400mH), Alwyn Myburgh (400mH, 4 x 400m), Tseko Mpolokeng (marathon), Neo Molema (marathon), Okkert Brits (pole vault), Khotso Mokoena (long jump, triple jump), Martin McClintock (long jump) Yaw Fosu Amoah (long jump), Hardus Pienaar (javelin), Robert Oosthuizen (javelin), Lohan Rautenbach (javelin), Chris Harmse (hammer throw), Hannes Hopley (discus), Janus Robberts (shot put), Ramsay Carelse (high jump), Lee Roy Newton (4x100m), Ruben Majola (4 x 400m), Hilton Langenhoven (T12 100m), Joseph van Nel (T12 100m), David Roos (T46 200m)

Women: Geraldine Pillay (100m, 200m), Adri Schoeman (400m, 4 x 400m), Estie Wittstock (400m, 4 x 400m), Surita Febbraio (400mH, 4 x 400m), Lebogang Phalula (800m, 1500m), Lebo Phalula (800m, 1500m), Marlene Breytenbach (1500m), Nolene Conrad (3000m sc), Tebogo Masehla (3000m sc, Nicolene Cronje (20km walk), Suzanne Erasmus (20km walk), Tanith Maxwell (marathon), Charne Rademeyer (marathon), Elizna Naude (discus), Anika Smit (high jump), Marli Knoetze (shot put), Simone du Toit (shot put), Sunette Viljoen (javelin), Samantha Dodd (pole vault), Janice Josephs (heptathlon), Tsholofelo Selemela (4 x 400m), Amanda Kotze (4 x 400m), Dominique Vogel (T38 100m), Thuliswa Mlinganiso (T38 100m)

Management: Wilfred Daniels (manager), Motlatsi Keikabile (manager), Kaai Preller (coach: discus), Martin Marx (coach: jumps), Magda Botha (coach: sprints and hurdles), Suzanne Ferreira (EAD), Thulani Sibisi (marathon), Abrie de Swardt (distances)

Issued by Banele Sindani


South African Sports Confederation & Olympic Committee