Six NOCs apply to host the 2nd Summer Youth Olympic Games in 2014

The International Olympic Committee (IOC) today announced that six National Olympic Committees (NOCs) have submitted applications to host the 2nd Summer Youth Olympic Games in 2014. They are, in alphabetical order: China, Indonesia, Mexico, Morocco, Poland and Turkey.

A number of NOCs requested additional time to designate the city they wish to put forward as Candidate City. The IOC has extended the deadline for these NOCs to submit the name of their cities to 1 April 2009. As of today, Jakarta 2014 (Indonesia), Nanjing 2014 (China) and Poznan 2014 (Poland) have already been confirmed.
The updated timelines below outline the bid process. The date of the election by the IOC members and of the announcement of the host city remains unchanged.
[LEFT]Updated timelines - 2nd Summer Youth Olympic Games 2014 bid process[/LEFT]
[LEFT]Signature of Candidature Procedure and submission of names of Candidate Cities[/LEFT]
1 April 2009
[LEFT]Submission of Candidature Files[/LEFT]
4 September 2009
[LEFT]IOC Executive Board to draw up list of finalist cities[/LEFT]
December 2009
[LEFT]Publication of Evaluation Commission report [/LEFT]
January 2010
[LEFT]Election and announcement of the Host City of the 2nd Summer Youth Olympic Games at the 122nd IOC Session in Vancouver[/LEFT]
February 2010
[LEFT]For more information:[/LEFT]
[LEFT] General presentation[/LEFT]
[LEFT] Candidature procedure and questionnaire[/LEFT]

[LEFT]For more information please contact the IOC Communications Department, [/LEFT]
[LEFT]Tel: +41 21 621 60 00, email:, or visit our website at[/LEFT]