Owning my 2015 coaching season

Hey all,

I’m a 4th year head coach of now moderately-sized high school program in New England. In the last 2 years I’ve really committed to coaching, reading/watching everything I could get my hands on (Charlie, Verkoshansky, Bompa, Bondarchuk, Pfaff, Schexnayder [apologies for butchering the spelling]) and even went and attended the USATF Level 2 school for jumps (plan on attending the USTFCCCA academy for sprints this summer). It turns out as awesome as all of that is, all the knowledge in the worlds means jack if you can’t apply it. Furthermore, thanks to the general isolated nature of coaches, getting honest and intelligent feedback is virtually impossible.

So, I’m writing this log to hold myself accountable and hopefully, improve my coaching (and knowledge) with whatever feedback you kind folks are willing to give. Much thanks!

My program has 50 some-odd athletes, of which the sprint/jump squad (which I’m responsible for) contains 30. Within that group, I have one returning senior, and 1 returning junior, the rest are all freshmen or sophomores (the youngest group I’ve worked with in my memory). Almost all of my spring athletes play a different winter sport (and all of my winter athletes play a different spring sport). It means a lot of remediation is necessary.

At the moment, our track is still under 2 feet of snow, so despite it being our spring season we are largely training inside on a 2 lane square track (40m straightaways).

Workouts in next post.

Day 1:
Warm-up (skipping, static stretches into dynamic)

Wall drills x2, x3, x5, x7
Partner push, 4x10m fast walk/run

How-to: SLJ and 5-step

3-step sprint drills x5

SS/HH/Jumps
4x10m, R=1’
4x20m, R=2’, hill
4x30m, R=3’

LS
4x30m, R=3’ - use Freelap

Multi-throws, 4 set
UHFx5
OHBx5
Squat Push x5

A Lift