not improving my results?!?

Hi all,
first of all congratulations on the website Charlie and everyone involved.!
I started training 5 years ago, used to play rugby and was invited to run track. However my first year was great but since then i feel that there is something is missing i believe my technique needs a lot of work…
First year: 10.65 (+2.6) 100mts, 60 mts 7.02, 200 mts 22.44.
I have had a lot of injuries but have them less often…
i am 27 years old now and still want to go for some years, preferably improving my results! help!

i train 5-6 times a week, i believe the problem is not the programm, but its something to do with my technical aspects which are not phocused at all. For example the running up an down feeling: never felt it; the fact that your foot during the recovery period has to pass above the knee (i was never told that before i read in the post) ; relaxation, i knew about this but never gave it too much importance, i always tried to strain my self until the finish line. These are some of the info i read here i am sure there much more than this…

1. See a chiropractor to correct any problems etc
  2. See a podiatrist to check your feet , shoes etc
  3. Find a sprinting coach at a local college or university, let him see you run a couple of times, he can then start correcting the basic things
  4. Gym programme, get a gym programme that focuses on sprinting related strength
  5. Its only your first year, dont expect miracles, your body is used to a different sport, you cant change say 10 years in 1 year, most sprinters bomb out because of one of the most important parts of sprinting - mental attitude!

1 & 2 are just to make sure
3 & 4 are the most important

The list of important things in sprinting - 1)Genetics 2) Hard Work 3) Coach & 4)Mental Strength!
If you dont have all of them together, there`s no real point.

Also don`t worry too much about your age, most sprinters hit there peak 29 to 32!!