NCAA Eligibility question...

I wasn’t exactly sure as to where to post this so i figured on the football section.

I was hoping that someone could answer my eligibility question. I have only 1 full time(12 hour) semester of college time under my belt. Never played a sport in any division. Some people tell me that I do have division 1 time left, some people say no, but i have time in both divisions 2 and 3.

I know I just need to apply with the NCAA Clearinghouse, and i will, when i get 30 bucks.

I graduated high school in 1999 and had my first full time semester in the spring of 03.

If you need more info ask and i will tell.

Thanks

How important is it for me to get into a D1 school as apposed to a D2 school???

If looking to get into the league…

Also…what D1 schools have a good record with walk-ons?? big and small schools

Once you have 12 units, your eligibility clock turns on, IF you are competing in a sport. Now I’m not sure in your case since you have never competed in a sport in college as far as D-1 goes, but for D-II, you have 10 full-time semesters to be eligible, and you can turn your clock on and off as you please. D-1: Once your “clock” starts, you can’t turn it off; and division-1 rules are you have 5 years to play 4, i.e. using a red-shirt year.

Since your first full-time semester was in spring '03, at the D1 level, you would have 3 seasons of eligibility left.

For D-1, as soon as you enroll and attend class, you have 5 calendar years to get 4 playing years (“5 to get 4” is how they say it). It doesn’t matter whether you play or not, your clock continuously runs. So, you should have 3 years remaining.

D-2 & D-3 go by how many full time semesters you attend. You have 10 full-time semesters to get your 4 years of playing in. Since you have only attended 1 full time semester, you will be able to play for 4 years.

NAIA is the same as D2 & D3 except that a full time semester consists of only 9 hours instead of 12 (at least athletically it does).