Making myself a weight sledge

I was reading an article on the different training techniques used by the coaches of Usain Bolt and Asafa Powell, and noticed that both of them love weight sledges. So I thought I’d get one, but then realised they are £75+ for just a few bits of metal!

So being an engineer I decided I’m going to make my own, I’ll probably make a few extra for my club and for athletes I know who want one.

I’ll probably get them laser cut as I don’t think I’ve got any 6mm steel at work, but I’ll still need to fold the end and weld on the bar to hold the weights, but it should be pretty easy, and much cheaper than buying one!

Here’s a design I drew up earlier of what I’m going to make…

Looks good but I don’t think you’ll need that many plates on it. :slight_smile:

Haha, at 6mm plate, you probably wont need any weight…
I made one with 0.6mm zinc alum, its light as a feather… Well, feather? :slight_smile:

Ive made two more out of 10x10mm angle mild steel to fit a 10kg plate perfectly. Its heavier, but stacks very flat as there is no centre rode to hold plates. On flat n smooth grass, they all perform brilliant. On rougher grass, ill use the old Zinc plate, as it holds the plates better.

It will work. Next the tow rope and belt or harness which will be included in the price of the sled.

I am sure that they would be cheaper if ppl worked for free.

Yee I only drew that many plates on it to get an idea of how tall the bar would need to be, in reality I think it will only need to take a maximum of 2 plates.

We have loads of 3mm mild steel at work, but I wasn’t sure how to attach the bar securely, but I guess there won’t be that much force on it as long as it’s not jerked around loads so 3mm might be a much better option.

I’ve already sorted the harness, padded belt off eBay for £10, 10m of low stretch marine rope for £6.50 and a couple of heavy duty stainless steel caribiners for £4.50.