Glute activation

everytime i do exercises for the glutes, i feel it alot on my hammies, how long till you start to see firing patterns that should lay off abit pressure on the hamstrings? Man when i do butt bridges i feel it on my hamstrings more then my glutes, if i feel both hamstrings is the harder muscle then the glutes. Does it take a year 8 months?

My athletes have found different times depending on your starting level. Keep focusing on squeezing the glutes on hip lifts and progress from there.

are you sure it doesn’t just mean that your hamstrings aren’t strong enough and that maybe your glutes are? you might be using your glutes but because they are coping with the load you don’t really feel it, whereas your hammies, as part of the chain, could actually be the weak link.

I’m no great expert. just wondering out aloud…

Have you tried another type of gym exercise on the area to see if it isnt just your positioning on the one you are doing?

If your hammies cramp in the butt bridge position, that means your hammies are taking over for a weak glute/s. Try digging your heels into the ground and point your toes into the sky.

a PT friend of mine suggested this:

"In terms of what else you can do for gluts start off with the following:

• lie on you stomach on the floor both legs fully straight on ground
  • bend the knee of the dodgy hammy to 90 degrees(right angle) whilst keeping the quad on the floor.
  • now keeping that knee position lift the foot up towards the roof so the quad now comes off the floor(imagine squashing a spider on the roof)
    -repeat 15-20 times * 3 sets, twice daily.