Germany picks 60 for worlds

Germany’s team for the 11th IAAF World Championships in Athletics, Osaka, Japan (25 Aug to 2 Sep) consists of 60 athletes.

Among them there is one who carries golden hopes for the Deutsche Leichtathletik-Verband (DLV). Christina Obergföll is the world’s number one javelin thrower this season. The 25-year-old athlete who had won a silver medal two years ago in Helsinki improved her European record to 70.20 m at the European Cup in June in Munich.

More German throwers should be in contention for a medal: Steffi Nerius (Javelin Throw), Petra Lammert (Shot Put), Betty Heidler (Hammer Throw) and the defending champion Franka Dietzsch (Discus Throw). Dietzsch heads the world list with 68.06 m, thrown in ideal conditions in Halle early in the season. In the heptathlon Jennifer Oeser and Lilli Schwarzkopf should be in with a chance as well.

Among the 32 German men selected for Osaka pole vaulters Björn Otto (season’s best of 5.90m) and Danny Ecker (5.87m) are probably the ones with best chances chances for a medal.

Jörg Wenig for the IAAF

German team

4 x 100m - Tobias Unger, Till Helmke, Alexander Kosenkow, Ronny Ostwald, Julian Reus, Marius Broening
400m - Bastian Swillims
4 x 400m - Bastian Swillims, Kamghe Gaba, Ingo Schultz, Jonas Plass, Simon Kirch
5000m - Jan Fitschen
Marathon - Martin Beckmann, Ulrich Steidl
110mH - Thomas Blaschek
3000mSC - Filmon Ghirmai
20km Race Walk - André Höhne
HJ - Eike Onnen
PJ - Tim Lobinger, Danny Ecker, Björn Otto
LJ - Christian Reif
SP - Ralf Bartels, Peter Sack
DT - Robert Harting, Michael Möllenbeck
HT - Markus Esser
JT - Stephan Steding, Peter Esenwein
Decathlon - Arthur Abele, Norman Müller, André Niklaus

100m - Verena Sailer
200m - Cathleen Tschirch
4 x 100m - Verena Sailer, Cathleen Tschirch, Katja Wakan, Marion Wagner, Johanna Kedzierski
400mH - Ulrike Urbansky, Tina Kron
Marathon - Susanne Hahn, Melanie Kraus
20km Race Walk - Sabine Zimmer, Melanie Seeger
PV - Silke Spiegelburg, Carolin Hingst, Julia Hütter
LJ - Bianca Kappler
SP - Petra Lammert, Nadine Kleinert
DT - Franka Dietzsch, Nadine Müller
HT - Betty Heidler, Kathrin Klaas, Susanne Keil
JT - Christina Obergföll, Steffi Nerius, Linda Stahl
Heptathlon - Jennifer Oeser, Lilli Schwarzkopf, Sonja Kesselschläger