Alwyn Myburgh defeats deep field of 400m Hurdlers in ABSA series
Saturday 19 February 2005
Unfazed by the chilly weather, Alwyn Myburgh (400m Hurdles) carried the day at the windy and rainy ABSA Series meeting staged at the Kings Park Athletics Stadium in eThekwini, South Africa on Friday night.

With his strongest opponents running on the inside lanes, Myburgh held back until the home straight, where his surged and went on to win in 49.21. Ter de Villiers (49.38), Ockert Cilliers (49.45), Llewllyn Herbert (49.51), Louis van Zyl (49.71), and Francois Malan 50.09) followed in that order.

The Olympic finalist was delighted with his achievement. "This is my first 400m Hurdles race since the Olympics and I was not sure what to expect with all my main opponents running behind me for most of the race.

“I started my season late and was not very confident with my hurdling technique. Now I feel strong running 14 strides in between each hurdle. This season has started on a promising note,” says Myburgh.

Elsewhere, Leigh Julius (20.77) maintained his unbeaten run in the 200m during the series. He earlier won the 100m in 10.59. “I want to maintain a consistent performance in the 200m. So I am happy with my time given the weather conditions tonight,” said Julius.

Undeterred by a steady drizzly and chilly head wind Silvester Moleko led Hendrick Ramaala, and Shadrack Hoff in the men’s 5000m until the last three laps. The more experience duo surged ahead.

In a thrilling last lap Hoff outwitted Ramaala in the final lap to win the event in 13:34.01. Ramaala (13:36.32) was second ahead of Enos Matalane (13:40.56). “This is a fine preparation for the 10km road championships in San Juan (Puerto Rico) next week. I have the speed and my aim is to run a sub 28 minutes,” Hoff revealed.

Hezekiel Sepeng (1:48.03) won a slow but tactical 800m race from Werner Botha (1:48.37) and Charles Jantjies (1:48.49). “I was on the verge of retiring after my disappointment at the Athens Olympics. After some soul searching I have decided top return to competition. I hope to retain my national title on this track in April,” Sepeng revealed.

Johan Cronje (3:39.90), held off a late challenge from Johan Pretorius (3:40.23) and Francois Pretorius (3:43.61) to win the men’s 1500m. Sprinter Heide Seyerling won the women’s 100m (11.71) and 200m (24.24)

Khotso Mokoena (16.22) comfortably won the Triple Jump, just as Frantz Kruger (60.72) did in the Discus Throw. Marcus la Grange (46.61) won the men’s 400m, while Estie Wittstock (52.61) was the best female in the event.

Janus Robberts (18.63) edged Burger Lambrechts (18.51) I the men’s Shot Put.

Emmanuel Mkhabela (8:38.31) prevailed in the 3000m Steeplechase where four athletes dipped below the 9-minute barrier despite the steady drizzle. The others where Sivuyile Dlongwana (8:39.24), 3 Petro Sithole (8:41.30), and Thabo Mapongoshe (8:52.11)

Mark Ouma for the IAAF

Selected Results

HEL A denotes achieved qualifier for World Championships Helsinki A Standard HEL B denotes achieved qualifier for World Championships Helsinki B Standard

100m (-1.7)
1 Leigh Julius 10.59
2 Snyman Prinsloo 10.73
3 Justin Green 10.85

200m (-0.4)
1 Leigh Julius 20.77
2 Snyman Prinsloo 21.68
3 Xandre Strydom 21.77

1 Marcus la Grange 46.61
2 Chris Gebhardt 46.84
3Ofentse Mogawane 47.20

110m Hurdles (-1.7)
1 Shaun Bownes 13.88
2 Ruan de Vries 14.06
3 Francois Potgieter 14.14

400m Hurdles
1 Alwyn Myburgh 49.21 HEL B
2 Ter de Villiers 49.38 HEL B
3 Ockert Cilliers 49.45 HEL B
4 Llewllyn Herbert 49.51 HEL B
5 Louis van Zyl 49.71. HEL B
6 Francois Malan 50.09

Hezekiel Sepeng 1:48.03
2 Werner Botha 1:48.37
3 Charles Jantjies 1:48.491

1 Johan Cronje 3:39.90
2 Johan Pretoius 3:40.23
3 Francois Pretorius 3:43.61

3000m Steeplechase
1 Emmanuel Mkhabela 8:38.31
2 Sivuyile Dlongwana 8:39.24
3 Petro Sithole 8:41.30
4 Thabo Mapongoshe 8:52.11

1 Shadrack Hoff 13.34.01
2 Hendrick Ramaala 13:36.32
3 Enos Matalane 13:40.56

5000m Walk
1 Marc Mundell 21:21:34(SR)
2 Jacobus van Dyk 22:04:41
3 Marius Appel 22:14:17

Triple Jump
1 Khotso Mokoena 16.22 (-1.8)
2 Jason Kidza-Sewayana 15.12 (-0.4)
3 Charles le Roux 15.02 (-1.1)

Discus Throw
1 Frantz Kruger 60.72
2 Joahnnes van Wyk 59.72
3 Sors Joubert 49.60

Shot Put
1 Janus Robberts 18.63
2 Burger Lambrechts 18.51
3 Rolie Potgieter 17.55

100m (-1.5)
1 Heide Seyerling 11.71
2 Wendy Seegers 11.74
3 Minete Albertse 12.51

200m (+0.9)
1 Heide Seyerling 24.24
2 Gaileen van der Westhuizen 24.82
3 Shona Hutchinson 24.85

1 Estie Wittstock 52.61
2 Surita Febrraio 53.33
3 Amanda Kotze 53.99

1 Mari-Louise Romijn 2:05.09
2 Marlene Breytenbach 2:06.53
3 Lisa van der Merwe 2:06.74

High Jump
1 Marlize Gertenbach 1.86
2 Dianne Wondergem 1.80
3 Nicolize Steyn 1.75

1 Elizna Naude 59.77
2 Elene Taliaard 46.54
3 Magdel Venter 46.06