Dynamic stretching

It seems that this type of stretch is taking over as far as pre- practice and pre- competition. As a coach, I really like the idea of not having to fight kids screwing around during that traditional partner stretch time. What are your thoughts as far as doing only dynamic stretching before a workout, and only doing static after?

Hi Coachf,

I find that if the athlete has a good ROM and stretches well (mornings/after workout) a dynamic warm up can work well for them.

Although this will entirely depend on the athlete in question, flexibility tests etc would probably be a good idea to help out/montior an athletes flexibility and give indication of what dynamic warm up to prescribe.

Some slight stretches in specific areas might still be needed to ensure the risk of injury is kept to a minimal level.

One the other hand, getting youngsters to stretch at times when theyre not training is a huge task in itself, maybe a good idea to overlook the dynamic warm ups for now. :slight_smile:

Hope this helps!

Tomo1