DB drills i can do on my own?

does anyone have any good safety/DB drills i can do on my own? im just getting into football and my foot work is horrible. we have been doing one on ones and i am getting beat more than i would like to.

Backpedal, backpedal, and backpedal to start out. Tape yourself if possible so you can see what you need to change.
Backpedal straight back
Backpedal and break at various angles (straight back, 45 degrees, 90, 135, 180)
Backpedal to turn and run (180), then break back to LOS.
Weave (keep shoulders square to the LOS) and weave with a break
You would set cones or shoes up in a W shape and backpedal to one cone, break forward to next, etc.

As far as playing one on one, I’m sure your coach is helping you here, but the most common mistakes are…

1. DBs don’t take away the inside. Make the QB make a good throw to the outside. These are harder throws to complete and are in the air longer. If he comes inside, you are going to defend the pass or jack him.
  2. Once the WR breaks the LOS, you need to keep your feet moving (usually backwards), don’t lunge and wiff trying to collision.
  3. Don’t look back unless you’re hip to hip. Unless you are within easy arm’s reach to the hip of the WR, don’t look back.
  4. Stay low in your backpedal. Lots of times all the drill work goes out the window in a live drill.

Remember that you are at a disadvantage, especially in one on one practice since there is no rush and usually there isn’t game like spacing and conditions for the WR and QB. This is a great way for you to get better. You are going to get beat, and on every play you are probably going to be beat for a second. The main thing to think about is “don’t look back unless I’m hip to hip” when you’re beat. By simply doing this, most poor DBs become average, etc at this drill.

Hope that helps some.

that helps alot. i noticed i always look back at the QB and it kills me. how much should i play inside? thanks alot again.