Coaching development

So I’ve now been coaching for 8 years, with the last 3 really taking me down the rabbit hole as I moved from being an athlete who coached to just a coach. I started learning (or really trying to learn) digging up videos on youtube (Brian Clymber does some pretty good stuff), which lead me to purchasing one of those how to coach sprinter video sets, then a USATF level 2 certification, then a USTFCCCA certification, and pretty much all the reading I could get my hands on. What it means is that I’m pretty comfortable with basic training theory and the science behind it, as well as the various technical models. This winter I determined myself weak in S&C knowledge, so I grabbed all of literature on that I could (makes the sprinting community look and sound unified) and while I know I have a long way to go, I definitely don’t feel like a pretender in the weight room any more.

All that said, I’m not totally sure where I should point myself next. I’ve started grabbing some books on leadership/psychology (Mastery and Anti-Fragile) but they feel a bit farther ahead of where I am right now. So my thoughts of what else to add are:

Physiology and kinematics (I’m an English teacher so that didn’t really happen…ever)
?

I know first and foremost this is a time thing, and that maybe the biggest thing I’m lacking is experience but does anyone have any other suggestions of what else would be worth developing?

Much thanks

see stuart mcmillan’s blog for old info on s&c…

The top 2 development sources on my wish list right now are the ALTIS coaches apprenticeship in Phoenix, AZ and then learning more about ELDOA.

Thanks for responding.

Hornblower - I’ve read all of Stu’s stuff (actually have the whole weight series printed), though with the weights I’m more at a understanding the programming rather than determining the system to use it in (crawl before walk or something like that). Cal Dietz’s Triphasic Training was a really good find for me on that.