Being Fair

I made a huge mistake and would like some advice. I am a high school track coach at a small school. One of the colleges in our state holds a huge track and field event with world class athletes, etc. Besides the pro, college, and university divisions, they also run a high school division. Any HS team in the state who runs 45.9 or better can run their 4 X 100 there. This is not an unbelievable time, but it is still a prestigious honor to run there.
At the beginning of the year we had time trials in the 100 to see who would run the 4 X 100. At the first meet, when the “3rd” fastest kid was injured, we ran “4th” and “5th” to a 45.77. The “4th” fastest kid ended up missing the first meet of the year (leadership award banquet) where we actually ran with the 3 fastest guys(if that makes sense), and we inserted the “5th” fastest kid. That meet we ran our best time, 45.12. In the 4 meets since, we have have re-inserted the “4th” fastest guy for “5th” and run times ranging from 45.32 to 45.67. We have run under 45.9 all 6 meets this year, regardless of who ran the relay.
Anyway, I just realized today that I might not be giving the “5th” fastest guy a fair shake when he brought it up in a private meeting. I can see his point. BUT he did lose to the “4th” fastest kid head to head when the chips were on the line. The big meet is Saturday. We also have a meet tomorrow (thursday). What should I do?
I can either run it tomorrow with the “5th” guy and see if he beats the “4th” guys best time. If so, “5” runs Saturday. This combo hasn’t practice handoffs since running 45.12 a month ago.
I could have them race head to head best of 3 on Friday. Winner runs Saturday. That doesn’t seem like an injury free solution.
I could just go with the top 4 as originally planned according to the time trials, and let them run off again before state.
What a mess. I feel terrible either way. I should have been on this earlier.