Athletes attitude and work ethic

My question is to those who have experience with high school athletes.
I am a club coach up here in Canada, and the state of track and field in Canada is very week so it is easy to be at the top of the heap.
What I am asking is how do we encourage 100% effort on the track and especially on off days. We train as a group three times a week and three days are supposed to be on their own.
There are a few that do the work on and off, they are improving tremendously, (ex. grade nine female 24.00 and 11.92 and grade 12 male 22.1 and 47.5)
A few seem to be just going through the motions thinking it is beneficial?

Any advice on how to encourage an increase in effort and confidence?

Thank-you very much

“If you don’t demand that your people maintain high performances to remain on your team, why should they be proud of the association?” - Lou Holtz

I think it all starts with the coach. Tell the athletes your expectations and hold them to those expectations, no exceptions.

Also, we all know that with success brings confidence. Once people realize that they are doing well, they find pride in themselves and the team. Pump these kids up. Talk to them individually and tell them something positive, i.e. they have potential, if they work hard you can see them as the best 100m runner on the team, then the league, etc. Don’t be fake though, kids can see through you.

Good luck.

I think work ethic breeds upon itself. If you have leaders or highly-motivated individuals on a team, it will spread to the rest over time. To make this possible, you could try to practice more as a group on the easy days so the others can see how much intensity needs to present, or you can place the not-so-motivated athletes (or younger) with a more disciplined athlete. Kind of like a mentoring program or training partner. Just some thoughts.:smiley:

Great idea dlive.