Athlete Assessment

A question for the coaches here:

When you first start working with an athlete and take him/her through an assessment, what main things do you look for before you can begin writing a training program? (lets say for example if the sport is football)

Obviously you want to individualise the training to the person as much as possible and things are learnt over the course of time, but what are the main things you can learn about an athlete through simple assessments?

Is it even necessary to put the athlete through many tests as some people often do? (eg. max squat, vertical jump, speed tests, beep test, phosphate decrement test, etc) Or can you learn as much about the athlete by watching him/her sprint and play the sport?

I’m no expert (yet :slight_smile: ), but here’s my 2 cents.

I just recently took on a beach volleyball player,

-first thing I find out are lifestyle patterns, like eating, stress levels at work (and/or school if applicable). Sleeping patterns.

-then I take a look at the body’s posture. Nothing fancy, excessive forward head lean? Winged shoulder baldes? Pelvic tilt?

-Any past injuries? What was the previous work out?

Then I put something together, to the best of my ability.

I’d love to hear what the other coaches do.

And how’s my list? I’m sure there are things i can add. Also anything I can drop?

Here are some other points:

-lifestyle assessment
-past/current medical Hx
-family (both sides) medical Hx
-medications
-gas analyzer (if you have the accessiblity and resources)
-body fat %
-strength tests
-etc etc

strenght weakness’ or imbalances

In terms of finding their strengths/weaknesses, what tests can you do?
If you just test the basic exercises (eg. squat, bench, chin-ups, v-jump, etc) you don’t get enough information about the mechanical weaknesses of the athlete (unless you’re experienced enough to be able to see the weakness through the athlete’s sprinting/squatting technique for example).