4 X 100 order

I am a HS track coach trying to maximize our 4 X 100 time. This is probably our best relay event. We currently have a very good 100 m man - has run 10.98 (hand timed last year). He has a very good start, and a mediocre finish. He will probably not lose a race all year (should have a chance to win the state title). Our second fastest kid is very strong and finishes best out of everyone. He has run 11.43. Our 3rd fastest kid is young and relatively weak, but springy. I’m guessing he runs around 11.7. Starting is not a strength, but he does have pretty good 200 and 400 speed (I think he’ll go around 53.5 in the quarter). Our fourth fastest kid is tall and lanky. A very good competitor and athlete, but probably would be lucky to run a 12.0.
Right now we are trying this order:

1. Best (overall) sprinter and starter. We try to have him run through as much of the zone as possible.
  2. Slowest runner - runs as short as possible.
  3. Second fastest runner (best finisher). We are trying to have him run a “long” leg.
  4. 3rd fastest runner.

My thinking is that our fastest guys (1 and 3) should be able to run the longest, and we can utilize our stud’s starting strength.
Any criticisms are welcome.

When we ran relays.
Normally if u have to guys close to the same speed that are your top 2
u use them on 2 and 4
cause 2’s the longest leg. U can shorten 3 and 1. and 4 is your 2nd fastest and then 1 would be a strong leadoff and 3 u can hide your slowest.

Usually the fastest person out the the blocks is the first leg; they should also be a stud on the turn. Second leg is very important; I wouldnt put the slowest guy here… If it were me with the guys you have now I would go

1st leg- 10.98 guy
2nd leg- 11.43 guy
3rd leg- 12.0 guy(since it’s on a turn and he can get a running start which will make him more efficient; 3rd leg is shorter than 2nd isnt it?)