3 time state champs

I have been asked to create and administer a strength and conditioning program for an inner city basketball team that has won 3 big school state titles in the last 7 yrs.
Obviously I want to do well. These guys play a lot of aau hoops in the summer.
My goal is to give a good strength and aerobic base for the comp phase and most of all, increase speed and agility (lateral, forward, backward)
I am primarily a sprint coach so I will take what I have learned from experience and this site and build on that.

I have 12 weeks of prep before the season and it will be fahioned in this manner.

12 weeks broken into 3 x 4 week macros

Macro #1
2 x weekly- tempo 3000m or long hill runs, jumprope; core work

2x weekly- short speed such as: hill accel, side shuffles or karaokes on grass incline (for lateral accel), backwards sprints up to 20m
***all speed work is w/ full recovery

Weights on speed days-
workout #1-Bench, pull ups or lat pulldowns, military press, curls, biceps, forearms

Workout #2- Squats, deads, Med ball throws

What thoughts so far??

Are these guys in the aau and/or summer leagues now?

If so even this amount of running might be a little much and the athletes are probably getting a lot of their workout from the games. Obviously it depends on how many games a week they play and so on, but I believe that in basketball most of the training off the court should be focused in the weightroom and depending on the amount of summer games etc that they are doing maybe some light to medium plyo work.

Interesing

Where’s the skill work… game play?

The amount of Tempo will depend on where they start from - but I don’t see why 2 days might be too much.

How about splitting the speed days to 1 day linear speed, 1 day agility?

Why 3K of tempo?
I would also split the weights, so they have upper/lower body work twice.