100 meter help needed

Im a freshman in high school. I have a 12:80 100 meter dash. I beat everyone off of the blocks and keep it for about 20 meters. Our coach has us do a lot of 50s and 100s for practice and i do mostly oylmpic lifting for weights. Any suggestions?

Sounds like a top speed issue. I have the same problem, and to fix it you need to develop MaxV. For the 50s and 100s, how much rest are you getting in between runs, and how many runs are you doing per workout? Are you doing these on consecutive days? Are they supposed to be full speed every time? When are you lifting (before or after running)? What lifts are you doing specifically? What are the set/rep schemes? What’s your height, weight, BF%, etc.?

As far as developing top speed, the best way I know how to do it is through flying sprints. Basically, you take a 30m run in (where you slowly accelerate) until you reach top speed and then you try and hold it for a set distance (anywhere from 10-30m, depending on your skill level). You take a full recovery in between runs. What you are doing now sounds like it could be developing top speed, but it’s not specifically designed for it. See if you can answer the questions, and I’ll try and help you out. Anyone else?

I’ve found that jumps & bounds helped my top speed alot. You probably don’t want to do a ton of jumps in season but it’s definately something you can work on just before the season and into it a little bit.

Repeated jumps in place (quick ground contact), low hurdle hops, speed bounds, bounds for distance are all good. I know Charlie usually isn’t a fan of speed bounds (or regular bounds) but I think they would help a younger athlete.

I agree that stuff like flying 30m runs are also helpful.