Risk of Arthritis, spinal problems etc

Low to moderate exercise helps reduce the onset of arthritis, OP and spinal problems eg. vertebral disc flattening/prolapsing, nerve impingement. Exercise at high instensity can accelerate this.

At what point do we draw the compromise regarding exercise intensity and age to maintain skeletal health to its optimum, weight training, running or any other activities contributing as factors?

Interesting

This cross-point is highly individual. There is no test for this but there are some recomendations, but again this is true for general public. Who you are dealing with, age, sex, previous experience?

I am new in CF online…
looking forward to have usefull conversationz!!!

greetz

Blexy dont be fooling around :slight_smile: Type somthing usefull :smiley:
Nice to see you here Blazo!

At what point do we draw the compromise regarding exercise intensity and age to maintain skeletal health to its optimum, weight training, running or any other activities contributing as factors?

This is a great question Richard.
As duxx alluded to earlier the level of exercise will be purely individualized. As we all know when we are young, teens through mid-late 20’s our bodies are pretty new with great hormone levels and recovery abilities. As we age muscles and joints stiffen. The degeneration that was started earlier in our careers is now come to the surface. Not many young athletes start off their respect sports thinking how they will feel twenty years later.

As coaches, it’s our responsibility to decrease the number of injuries occured in sport by preparing our athletes to an optimal level. Also teaching our athletes how to be proactive in their approach to injury prevention when they leave us.

How many athletes get hurt in training?
Too many.