KINGSTON, Jamaica, June 11 (AFP) - Eight people,including Jamaica’s world record mile relay quartet atthe Helsinki Olympics in 1952, will be inducted into thecountry’s track and field Hall of Fame.
The inaugural annual awards ceremony, dubbed theJAAA/VMBS Hall of Fame Awards, will take place nextWednesday - one day before the National Championships.
The inductees are the five members of the legendarymile relay team, Arthur Wint, Leslie Laing, HerbertMcKenley, George Rhoden and Byron LaBeach; as well asCynthia Thompson, Joseph Yancey Jr and one of Jamaica’sseven national heroes, Norman Washington Manley.
Thompson was the first Jamaican woman to take part inthe Olympics, Yancey was the coach of the 1952 Helsinkiteam and Manley – an outstanding schoolboy athlete --was the founder of the Jamaica Amateur AthleticAssociation.